Accepting the 52 Ancestors Challenge for 2015

The concept of writing about 52 ancestors in 52 weeks was created by Amy Johnson Crow, and appears on her genealogy blog called “No Story Too Small.” What a great idea. This can be a story, a discussion of a photograph, an outline for a research problem–just something that gets the writing focused on an ancestor.

As Crow says in her post “The Year of Collaterals,” ancestors are technically defined as “those from whom you descend”–grands, great-grands, etc. A great-grandmother’s sister is a relative, but she is not an ancestor. I know enough about enough ancestors (I think, anyway) to get me through this 52-week challenge without resorting to using collaterals, even though some of those people I know a good deal about and some are my most favorite people in my genealogical tree. However, interesting as those collaterals may be, I think I should probably stick to ancestors this year, and then in 2016 I can declare my own “Year of Collaterals.” I’ll just have to see how it goes.

So without further ado, I’ll get on with it.

Click on the image to navigate to Amy’s blog site to read more about the challenge.

52ancestors_2015

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

